Transfer 7 Week 6 – Queen, Singaporea​ns and getting run over by a car ^^

Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you do the Fandango? – Freddy Mercury
Hi Everyone!

It was a really interesting week! We met a wonderful family who just moved into London from Toronto. We helped to unload their belongings and we saw a framed photo of them posed with the San Diego Temple in the background. It’s so beautiful! We’re probably going to start seeing them more often this week. They are so friendly and they have the cutest maltese puppy. hehe

My foot got ran over by my missionary companion car’s the other day. haha Surprisingly i didnt break any of my toes but it kinda felt like someone really heavy stepped on my feet. I was backing him into a rather tight parking spot and let my foot got caught between asphalt and wheel. haha not one of my finer moments.

I met some Singaporeans this past weekend! They’re studying at the University of Western Ontario and they were so recognisable. haha we have such a distinct accent one can tell from 20 miles away. I’ve been away from the Singaporean accent for so long it was such a bittersweet experience. It was such a familiar sound and yet the english was so mangled with malay and hokkien and chinese it was pretty hair-raising. haha I talked to them and they were surprised to see another Singaporean in London.
I was in a lesson the other day on the front  porch of a little house and the neighbor was just blasting Queen. I had  the hardest time focusing on the lesson and teaching well.  I’d be trying to listen  and words like “he’s just a poor boy from a poor family! spare him  his life from this monstrosity!” and “guaranteed to blow your mind”  would jump into the conversation. Oh man! I didn’t do so well.

Hopefully next week would be better! 😀

Chinese work is getting more and more exciting. Who knew i would come to love it.

Make it a good week everyone! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

